The drawing is done! Phase I complete!

Drawing phase complete. Next I prepare it to transfer, then do the actual transfer, and paint it. I’ll take you through it with me, and you can watch the funny steps I take (all computer nerds will shake their heads and weep, or laugh, or both).

For anyone just coming in now, this drawing is part of an art contest I’m co-hosting with Meaning-Full Art, and the story being illustrated is the winning submission from Nancy in Mexico. Here is her submission:

I’m a penguin. A penguin that walks miles and miles to get to what [is] passionate [to] her. Surrounded by predatory birds waiting for her to make a mistake. A penguin that moves her wings over and over again because her dream is to fly.

Discussing it with a friend brought up some interesting discrepancies in our interpretations. I alluded to the small dash of hope in her stance: that despite those hounding her with ill-intent, she still has dreams. My friend said that because penguins are flightless birds, whether she wants to join the others in the sky or not, there’s no hope: her predators are closing in and flapping her flippers is a futile act. I know that she’s not going to be able to fly away, but the fact that she carries hope is what I found to be bittersweet: that even as death surrounds her and slowly blots out the light, the last place she chooses to look is the sky.

What do you think?

One thought on “The drawing is done! Phase I complete!

Leave a Reply

