Food as art and love.

There has been less art over the past week or two because there has been a lot of food preparation going on. And I mean a lot. The fridge is bursting and it’s a satisfying sight.

I’ve made raw seed crackers and raw key lime avocado pie and red lentil curry and roasted root vegetables and tahini gravy and dehydrated kale chips and wild rice and pomegranate salads and spiced quinoa dishes with apples and cinnamon and almonds and marinated tempeh and raw chocolate dessert balls with prunes and dates and baked portobellos in almond sauce and beet and green been salad and tridoshic kichadi and raw cacao avocado pudding and spinach salad in spicy lemon dressing and piri piri sauce and I’ve been sprouting mung beans and adzuki beans and garbanzo beans and… I don’t even remember all the different things. I have been bathed in the scents of so many different spices and herbs. The air is rich with cinnamon, garlic, cilantro, lemon, cacao, coconut…

Preparing food is a sort of art, too. My creative self feels fairly satisfied (although I’m also feeling it’s time to paint and draw again).

Preparing food can be lots of different things. Here is something lovely:

“Cooking is a way of offering love. Food that is cooked with love, guided by the knowledge of the ingredients being cooked, and served in an inspiring atmosphere becomes healing. Most disease is traceable ultimately to incorrect diet. The cure for such wrong eating is not in better drugs, nor necessarily in better restaurants, but in reclaiming our oldest right and duty, to cook for ourselves, and those we love. Though right diet may not always be enough to correct diseases, few diseases can really be alleviated without it. Moreover, right diet is the essence of disease prevention and the foundation of a healthy and happy life.” – Harish Johari

Cooking is a way of offering love. Yes yes yes. More humus? More sprout bread? More raw cacao and coconut frozen dessert? Sit with me and share stories and warmth and eat food with me.

Tonight I am thinking of far away friends and lamenting that food cannot be shared through Skype. At least love fits through the wires just fine. Hello, mi Padre! Miss you, my Juggy! Hope you’re doing fine, Wild Child. You’re in my heart, you Bohemian Prince. My belly is full of good food and my head is full of memories and the more I enjoy this silence thinking of you all, the more nostalgic I get. I’m smiling and thinking of all my friends old and new and sending you so much love it’s heating me up like a thousand wooly socks. Like a roaring fire spitting orange sparks into space. Like a giant crazy-hot chili pepper. The giant crazy-hot chili pepper of friendship and the thousand wooly socks of love. It’s beautiful and bittersweet and wonderful.

Oh my gorgeous friends in far away places, I look forward to when we can next sit together and roar with laughter and spill wine on the table and feast.

Much love,

candace.

4 thoughts on “Food as art and love.

  1. I am really inspired along with your writing abilities and also with the structure on your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice weblog like this one nowadays. Goodbye from France

    • That’s really nice to hear. Thank you! I’m not paid for any of this – I just post about my art, and occasionally other things I like (food!). Glad you’re enjoying it!! If you like the art, please check out my webpage where more can be seen: madrabbitart.com

  2. Hi Candace – just signed up to follow your blog! I think we may be two of a kind – I haven’t come across anybody else that is into both art and nutrition in a big way although instead of combining all my lives in one blog, I have segmented them into several, so check them out if you get a chance (there are links on the sidebar of the one below)
    All the best, Laurel

    • Woah mama. Those are some beautiful paintings. I haven’t gone through it all yet – but your portraiture, and your plein air landscapes… wow. I love your brush strokes, and your attention to colour. You make everything look soft. The style you paint in makes me want to paint more, just by looking at it.

      Glad you’re enjoying my blog – thanks for reading and looking! I’ll check out yours more too (all of them – you weren’t kidding!) and hope to properly meet you at IHN in January. 🙂

Leave a Reply

