GRANOLA BEAR!!!

My friend Jay is a… geez, I don’t even know how to describe what he does. He’s a thinker, an artist, a designer, innovater, researcher, philosopher, and all ’round cool cat with the enthusiasm and delight for life of a 10-year-old. I’m rather fond of the fellow, if you’re not sure. This man is a walking party and fountain of ideas. Totally inspiring. So when we get to work on something together, I am always thrilled.

I’ve done some album art for Jay in the past, and a while ago he asked me to make some art for his newest musical creation: a digital release called Granola Bear.

He asked what he thought I might make for him. Well. Of course I had to make him a bear out of granola! OBVIOUSLY!

So I made granola. A lot of it.

Image

Here we have raw sprouted buckwheat granola, maple oat granola, some flavoured with ginger, some with orange, some over-cooked, some slightly under-cooked…. Lots of kinds with different shades, and various nuts, seeds and dried fruit. Mm mmm delicious.

Image

I brought all this down to the floor with me on a big bed sheet, put on some of Jay’s tunes, and started laying it out. I did a little drawing in marker that I kept nearby (to have something to refer to) and, basked in the delicious smell of granola, a bear slowly emerged.

Image

Ta da!

Wanna see the steps? Here’s how he came to liiiiiife:

Image

Image

ImageImage

Snack break! Mmm, granola bear is damn tasty.

Image

Image

Image

Beep!

Image

The above is a bear eye! (the centre is a sun-dried organic apricot)

Image

Image

Granola Bear does not end here – neither Jay’s album or it’s celebratory actual granola bear. There’s more to come from this friendly pile of granola, and of course Jay is always creating. Stay tuned… and check out Granola Bear on Facebook too!

Leave a Reply

